Tampa Weapons Crimes Lawyer
Firearms and weapons offenses in Florida carry substantial penalties, including lengthy mandatory minimum prison sentences in many cases. If a firearm was possessed during the commission of certain felonies, the accused will be facing a mandatory minimum of 10 years prison. If the firearm was discharged, the mandatory minimum increases to 20 years prison. And if the discharge causes death or great bodily harm, the mandatory minimum increases to 25 years to life in prison. Unless these mandatory minimums are waived by the State Attorney, the judge has no discretion in imposing a mandatory minimum sentence. Tampa weapon crime lawyer Donald C. Barrett defends people charged with a wide variety of violent crimes, including all types of firearms and weapons offenses. Contact Donald C. Barrett, P.A. for immediate assistance after an arrest for a firearms or weapons charge in Hillsborough County or the Tampa Bay area.
A Look at Florida Weapons and Firearms Offenses
Chapter 790 of Florida Statutes contains a long list of laws concerning weapons and firearms. These laws govern the purchase, sale and delivery of firearms, including the required waiting period; discharging a firearm in public; using a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs; and having weapons while engaged in a criminal offense. Section 790.07 of Florida Statutes outlines the following felony offenses for having a weapon while engaged in a criminal offense:
- To display, use, threaten or attempt to use any weapon while committing or attempting to commit any felony is a third-degree felony
- To display, use, threaten or attempt to use a firearm while committing or attempting to commit any felony is a second-degree felony
- Carrying a concealed weapon while committing or attempting to commit any felony is a third-degree felony
- Carrying a concealed firearm while committing or attempting to commit any felony is a second-degree felony
- Violation of any of the above is a first-degree felony if the defendant has a prior conviction for one of the above listed weapons offenses
Concealed Carry in Florida
To legally carry a concealed weapon in Florida, you must be at least 21 and be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm. You cannot have a felony conviction or a conviction for certain misdemeanor offenses. You also cannot have a record of drug or alcohol abuse, or meet other conditions outlined in the law. It is legal to briefly openly display a concealed weapon, but not in an angry or threatening manner.
Florida Open Carry Laws
It is generally illegal to open carry firearms in Florida. Certain other weapons may be open carried for self-defense. Violation of the open carry law is a second-degree misdemeanor.
Help is Available for Tampa Weapons and Firearms Arrests
If you have been arrested for a weapons or firearms offense in Hillsborough County, call Donald C. Barrett, P.A. in Tampa at 813-280-1201 for a free consultation with a knowledgeable and experienced Tampa weapon crime lawyer.